A Thank you to the class of 2015.

I could have sworn it was January just yesterday… or was that march?

With pondering on this thought, I realized that the year was a complete blur for me, the past week I gave my last classes to my students in 1st, 2nd and 3rd year for 2015. This was a sad occurrence for me especially when thinking of my 3rd year students.

Yes I have my new students arriving next year and the first year becoming the second year students, and the current second year students becoming the new 3rd year students ( you have big shoes to fill although I think you all will do just fine) , But my class of 2015 will always be my first Production Design class I had to set free in to the world.

Through out the year I have seen these individuals grow into the great students and human beings they have become,

They are all on their way to find their little place in this world, some will study further, some will travel the world, some will start working and some will change their course of interest.

But as this is a post about you, it is with great pleasure that I say thank you to you class of 2015…

For some reason people always feel obligated to say thank you to their lectures, educators etc etc. which of course is always appreciated and taken to heart as for any educator those thank you’s are a reminder that you are in this to make a change in the world but more specifically change someones life for the better.

This is what you taught me this year ( yes teaching is a two way street)

  1. Live a little
  2. Laugh more often
  3. Life is to short to deal with other peoples drama
  4. To just be there
  5. When going for it, go for it completely
  6. Make more friends
  7. Judge the work not the person
  8. Fight for what you believe in
  9. Change is scary but good
  10. Hard work always pay off ( yes I needed a reminder of this)
  11. Always grow more

You are all great students and yes, no ending comes easy we had our fair shares of “OMG” moments, “sorry it is late” just challenges in general, but my hope for you is to see you in a few years just to see how you have conquered your dreams, fear and new adventures. Where ever you go remember your knapsack of hope. Stand strong and proud cause you came this far already just imagine how far you can still go.

Thank you for being a great class of students.

Remember to make the little things count.

2 thoughts on “A Thank you to the class of 2015.

Leave a comment