Clinging to summer… what is left of it.

1393701416416[1]

With the inspiration of summer coming to an end, and fall creeping in slowly but surely through the chill of the wind in the evening and crisp air in the morning I can’t help myself with thoughts of how can I cling to the idealistic world of summer?

So, with the idea of summer in my mind, I picked up my phone and was calling my hairdresser. She was delighted by the call and booked me immediately for the next weekend. Of course knowing that I will spend a little more than the norm when I replied to her chirpy “hello” with “do whatever you like as long as I look fabulous when you are done”, suddenly my last bit of summer changed into a forecast of endless winters for my wallet.

Never the less the booking was made for my hope in clinging to my last bit of summer. The week flew by as per usual, with me at points where I don’t know if I was coming or going or even still existing for that matter, but at last Friday arrived as I flopped onto the couch after work and just enjoying a good cup of love aka COFFEE. And all of a sudden it dawned on me tomorrow is D-Day for clinging to my summer, so with excitement and some bit of hysterics I stroll through the rest of the Friday evening just winding down the week.

Saturday morning arrived and sure thing I was up before the sun, So there I sit with my cup of love awaiting to catch the rays of sun crawling over the mountain to come and great me for the new day. I was driving to the hair dresser that morning, feeling the sun playing against my skin, I remembered a time when being in the sun was the best place to be surrounded by friends, family, sea and sand and was wondering how can I explain this feeling to my hairdresser that will HAVE TO transfer this feeling into colour pigments that will cling to my hair and revitalize me every day I see it.

“Sure thing” she said “I will make it look like summer! You will look FAB when I am done with you”  as I was positioning myself in the chair looking and arguing with myself in the mirror. It was not long thereafter when she came running out with five different colors and foils to apply summer to my hair. By the time she was done my head was heavy with the foil,  I was sure if an agency for circus freaks was around the corner they would have hunted me down for The woman with the metal head.

So I sat drinking my coffee, paging through the magazines wondering what is brewing underneath these foils, when I heard the words ” it’s time come sit” , as I walked all the way to the basin, I started thinking of my summer with the beach, friends and family and thought to myself regardless of the outcome I will always have my summer.

Under the rush of water I could hear some of the client’s muttering words like “brave” water rushing “insane” water rushing “husband” water rushing ” kill me” ….. What where they talking about?  Only realizing that my hair color have sparked an interesting topic.

As the water stopped and I took my place in my hairdressers chair, feeling naked as I was being stared at for no reason, my hairdresser started cutting and drying my hair, as the hairdryer continued blowing so did the woman with their comments but at this point I didn’t care as I was seeing my summer in my hair.

AND with a thud of a hairdryer being placed on a counter I realized my summer has completely returned to my hair. And the crowd went wild.

As I turned around in my chair to face the crowd that was standing behind me as my hair was being cut, the discussion went immediately back to comments of ” I would never be able to do that” or the worst one yet ” my husband would never allow that” or ” I am not brave enough to do that” As I heard all these comments I realized that not everyone in front of me was  living their dreams or at least feeling that they are living their lives to it”s full potential.

I mean here was I having my hair done to some extreme experimental color process or not, the point was it was different just how I would like it, to be honest I felt on top of the world and yet I looked at a few woman not knowing that to do what You want to do, even if it is dying your hair in multiple colors, Makes the difference within you.

So my reply to them was:” If you can’t change your circumstance , at least do something for yourself.

I mean it is the little things that count.

Leave a comment